Sudhir Mishra


Film Director

Sudhir Mishra is internationally renowned film director who is one of the pioneers of alternative independent cinema movement of India.

A succesful career spanning over three decades, Sudhir moved to Mumbai in 1980 and started as an assistant director and scriptwriter in Kundan Shah’s comedy classic Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron (1983). He later worked with Saeed Akhtar Mirza in Mohan Joshi Haazir Ho (1984) and also with Vidhu Vinod Chopra in Khamosh (1985)
He made his directorial debut with the film, Yeh Woh Manzil To Nahin in 1987 which won the National Film Award for Best First Film of a Director.

“Dharavi” is his most successful film, it won the National Award for Best Hindi Film, Best Editing and Best Music Director. It achieved popular success in India and was shown at over 10 international film festivals. In the Festival of Three Continents in Nantes (France) the film won the critics’ Special Jury Prize. (‘Prix de la ville de Nantes’)

In recent times “Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi” has been one of the most critically acclaimed films from India, having travelled to 12 film festivals including Turkey, Black Night in Estonia, River to River (Florence), Berlin, Edinburgh, Washington, India (Goa), Bite the Mango (Bradford), Commonwealth (Manchester), Los Angeles, Dallas, and Pacific Rim (California).

Sudhir Mishra has won three national awards for Yeh Wo Manzil To Nahin, Main Zinda Hoon and Dharavi.

His illustrious 30 years career has been recognized by the Government of India when he won National Awards from the President of India, as well as Ordre des Artes et des Lettres from the French Government (equivalent to Knighthood).

Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron (1983) – Screenwriter
Mohan Joshi Hazir Ho! (1984) – Screenwriter
Khamosh (1985) – Screenwriter, actor
Yeh Woh Manzil To Nahin (1987) – Director, screenwriter
Main Zinda Hoon (1988) – Director, screenwriter
Dharavi (1991) – Director, screenwriter
Is Raat Ki Subah Nahin (1996) – Director, screenwriter
Arjun Pandit (1999 film) – Co-Writer
Calcutta Mail (2003) – Director, screenwriter
Chameli (2003) – Director, screenwriter
Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi (2005) – Director, screenwriter
Traffic Signal (2007) – Actor
Khoya Khoya Chand (2007) -Director, screenwriter
Tera Kya Hoga Johnny (Dec 2010) – Director, screenwriter
Raat Gayi Baat Gayi (2010) – Actor
Yeh Saali Zindagi (2011) – Director, screenwriter
Mumbai Cutting (2011) – Writer and Director of the segment “The Ball”
Inkaar (2013) – Director, writer
Kirchiyaan (2013) – Director, co-writer (short film)
Daas Dev (Releasing October 2015) – Director, Screenwriter
Mehrunissa (2016) (pre-production)– Director, Screenwriter
Runner (2016) (pre-production)- Director, Screenwriter

1987 Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director: “Yeh Woh Manzil To Nahin” (1987)
1989 National Film Award for Best Film on Other Social Issues: “Main Zinda Hoon” (1988)
1992 National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Hindi: “Dharavi” (1991)
2006 Filmfare Best Story Award: “Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi” (2005)
2010 Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (French government)[8] France’s knighthood – equivalent to the “Sir” title of the British


Posted on

21st March 2017